top of page
  • Press Release

Ashland Police Division holds 2nd Annual Awards Banquet

Ashland, Ohio—The Ashland City Police Division recognized nearly 20 officers and staff members this past Saturday evening, February 17, at their 2nd Annual Awards Banquet held at Mount Vernon Estate.


Captain Craig Kiley

Captain Craig Kiley gave a synopsis of the projects the Division is working on for 2024.


Chief David Lay

Chief David Lay recognized those who received Letters of Commendation during 2023.


Letter recipients included:


Chief David Lay, Officer Mason Birkbeck, State Representative Melanie Miller

• Officer Mason Birkbeck for his exemplary officer-initiated criminal patrol work in a drug paraphernalia and trafficking case.

• Officer Adam Brock for his professionalism in which a community member complimented Adam’s willingness to work with others and his positive impact on children.

• Sergeant Lee Eggeman for conducting a traffic stop that resulted in the recovery of heroin, drug abuse instruments, and drug paraphernalia. His continued investigative efforts on this case also led to the recovery of additional methamphetamine and heroin in connection to the initial stop.

• Officer Abrahm Neumann received two letters, the first for his off-duty efforts in apprehending a shoplifter, and the second for providing help to an injured driver trapped after a severe crash. Officer Neumann broke a window, climbed inside the vehicle and rendered aid until EMS crews arrived.

• Division Detective Brad Scarl and Ashland County Sheriff’s Office Detective Rick Kinter for their coordinated search warrant with other METRICH detectives to help remove more dangerous drugs from our community after the tragic drug overdose of a community high school-aged student.


Detective Sergeant Curt Dorsey earned the Meritorious Service Award for going above and beyond his primary duties while investigating the rape of a juvenile. Sergeant Dorsey was actually nominated for this award by the Captain of the Stow Police Department, who praised Dorsey and the entire APD for their professionalism, service and spirit of collaboration.


Several officers and staff were recognized for their years of service with the Division as well:

• 5 Years: Officer Mason Birkbeck and Records Specialist Laura Messersmith

• 15 Years: Officer Jeremy Jarvis and Sergeant Jonathan Kohler


Mayor Matt Miller, Chief David Lay, State Representative Melanie Miller

This year marks 30 years of service for Chief David Lay, who received a commendation from the Ohio House of Representatives, presented by State Representative Melanie Miller. Chief Lay also earned an educational achievement award for obtaining his Master of Public Safety degree from the University of Virginia this past May.


Chief David Lay, Officer Connor Black, State Representative Melanie Miller

A special Life-Saving Award was given to Officer Connor Black who was dispatched to reported house fire back in February 2023. Upon arrival he found an attached garage fully engulfed in flames and proceeded to wake the residents and start their evacuation before the fire crews arrived.


“Connor showed great humility about his actions, and when his supervisors looked into this for me, he told them that he was only doing his job,” Chief Lay said, “Without his quick thinking, however, that incident could have had a more tragic ending.”


Chief David Lay and Officer Adam Srnis in focus

The peer vote awards rounded out the evening with Civilian, Officer and Supervisor of the Year, capped by the Chief’s Achievement Award. Qualities taken into consideration for these awards include professional conduct, congeniality between employees, dedication and commitment to the Division’s mission and goals, moral character, and outstanding performance in furthering the professional image of the Ashland Police Division.


Chief David Lay, Brad Baker, State Representative Melanie Miller

Civilian of the Year went to Justice Center Facility maintenance worker Brad Baker. Brad was instrumental in several large projects this past year and has been the driving force behind upcoming building renovations.


Officer of the Year was awarded to Officer Adam Wolbert, a six-year employee of APD who works on a night squad and is a Team Leader on the Special Response Team.


Chief David Lay, Sergeant Lee Eggeman, State Representative Melanie Miller

Supervisor of the Year went to Sergeant Lee Eggeman, a 12-year employee who was promoted to Sergeant in 2022 and currently helps to lead C Squad on nights.


Officer Adam Srnis received the Chief’s Achievement Award this year. “When selecting the winners of this award, I focus on motivation, humility, dependability and selflessness,” Chief Lay explained, “but I also see leadership potential in the winners of this award, whether they recognize it or not. The recipients of this award are some of Ashland’s finest.”


Chief David Lay, Officer Adam Srnis, State Representative Melanie Miller

Srnis is currently assigned to A Sqaud and is a Field Training officer, where he has consistently been in the top three regarding activity for total arrests, drugs arrests, OVI’s, and citations within the Patrol Bureau this past year. Adam was previously voted Officer of the Year in 2022.


Outside of public safety, Adam is a Deacon at the Faith Baptist Church in Amherst and organized a bible study group among his squadmates last year, leading faith and scripture discussions.


Captain Craig Kiley, Lieutenant Jerry Bloodhart, Chief David Lay, Lieutenant Aaron Kline

Mayor Matt Miller wrapped up the evening by thanking the Division for all the work they do to keep the Ashland community safe. “All of the wonderful improvements we’ve made to our downtown and all of the efforts we have put in to cleaning up our city and renovating old buildings do not matter if we are not a safe community where individuals and families can enjoy a peaceful quality of life.”

***Photo's Submitted by: Ashland City Police Division***


bottom of page